To assist the sport and sports law industry, in 2004 ANZSLA introduced an award to recognise ANZSLA members who have made a substantial lifetime achievement to the development, integrity and professionalism of the sport and sports law industry.  ANZSLA does not intend to give this award every year, such is the distinguished nature it is intended to hold. 

The deadline for 2024 nominations is Friday, 6 September 2024.  A nomination form can be downloaded from this page.

Contribution to Sport & Sport Law Award Winners

The Hon Robert Ellicott QC

Inaugural Award 2004

David Howman

Awarded in 2006

Malcolm Speed AO

Awarded in 2008

Hayden Opie AM

Awarded in 2009

The Hon Barry Paterson CNZM, OBE, QC

Awarded in 2010

Margot Foster AM

Awarded in 2011

Allan Sullivan QC

Awarded in 2017

Braham Dabscheck

Awarded in 2018

Don Mackinnon

Awarded in 2023